top of page

the best in jazz recordings since the last century

Freddie Hubbard: MMTC (Monk, Miles, Trane & Cannon)

Freddie Hubbard

with Javon Jackson, Vincent Herring, Robin Eubanks, Stephen Scott, Carl Allen, Peter Washington

coming soon jhs.png
jazz hires stream.png

With MMTC, the rock-solid torchbearer Freddie Hubbard pays tribute to his illustrious influences. With a tight and reverent ensemble of hot young players behind him, Hubbard delivers eight uncompromising classics, mixing his own compositions with those of Coltrane, Monk, and Davis. There's also the tender "Song My Lady Sings," by Charles Lloyd, the echo of a live '60s recording by Cannonball Adderley. Hubbard fires through a charged tempo in Coltrane's "Naima," showcasing the talents of his young accomplices, among them Javon Jackson on tenor saxophone and Vincent Herring on alto. The tunes penned by Hubbard, "Spirit of Trane," "One of a Kind," "Monk," and "Cannon" demonstrate a deep understanding of each of these legendary figures. This effort was recorded in 1995 and is, in a sense, a collaboration of the best three generations of jazz have to offer. --All Music Guide


7 One Of A Kind (Tribute to Miles Davis) 07:09

8 Naima (Tribute to John Coltrane) 07:12

9 Spirit Of Trane (Tribute to John Coltrane) 06:19

10 The Song My Lady Sings (Tribute to Cannonball Adderley) 08:00

11 Off Minor (Tribute to Thelonious Monk) 05:39

12 All Blues (Tribute to Miles Davis) 07:39

13 D Minor Mint (Tribute to Thelonious Monk) 06:36

14 One For Cannon (Tribute to Cannonball Adderley) 06:28

bottom of page